Harper Academic

The Lost Letters from Martha's Vineyard

A Novel

by Michael Callahan

On Sale: 05/21/2024

Price: $30.00

The Lost Letters from Martha's Vineyard

Enlarge Book Cover

The Lost Letters from Martha's Vineyard

A Novel

by Michael Callahan

On Sale: 05/21/2024

Format:

Price: $30.00

About the Book

“I was completely captivated by Michael Callahan’s The Lost Letters from Martha’s Vineyard. It’s a history mystery you won’t be able to put down, with strong female characters and plenty of secrets. Plus, it takes you behind the scenes in vintage Hollywood and Martha’s Vineyard. A perfect beach read!”—Lisa Scottoline, #1 bestselling author of Loyalty and The Truth About the Devlins

A tantalizing novel of two women bound by blood but divided by a long-buried secret, and the island that holds the key to the fateful summer that changed everything forever.

In 1959, Hollywood ingenue Mercy Welles seems to have the world at her feet. Far removed from her Nebraska roots, she has crafted herself into a glamorous Oscar-nominated actress engaged to an up-and-coming director…

Until she shockingly vanishes without a trace, just as her career is taking off.

Almost sixty years later, Kit O’Neill, a junior television producer in Manhattan, is packing up her recently deceased grandmother’s attic, only to discover a long-lost box of souvenirs that reveal that the grandmother who raised her and her sister was, in fact, the mysterious Mercy Welles.

Putting her investigative skills to use, Kit is determined to solve the riddle of her grandmother’s missing life, and the trail eventually leads to Martha’s Vineyard.

Mercy retreats to the island nursing a broken heart, only to be drawn to the roguish Ren Sewards, who is not just the simple oysterman he appears to be but a scion of one of the island’s wealthy founding families. With her attraction to Ren quickly growing, Mercy soon finds herself entangled in the intrigues of the tightly knit community and the secrets of the Sewards.

Alternating between Mercy and Kit’s timelines, including excerpts from letters Mercy wrote the summer she disappeared, The Lost Letters from Martha’s Vineyard unfurls into a heart-stopping story of love, betrayal, and even murder.

Critical Praise

“Compelling and evocative, The Lost Letters from Martha’s Vineyard is a page turner of the highest order. Michael Callahan’s novel does what few books do; it glued me to my seat. It is a great mystery with great insight into the secrets everybody keeps." — Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Resurrection Walk

“Michael Callahan’s The Lost Letters from Martha’s Vineyard grabs from the first line and doesn’t let go until the last. This delicious mystery will be a particular treat for fans (guilty!) of vintage Hollywood and Nancy Drew.” — Louis Bayard, author of The Pale Blue Eye and The Wildes

“I was completely captivated by Michael Callahan’s The Lost Letters from Martha’s Vineyard. It’s a history mystery you won’t be able to put down, with strong female characters and plenty of secrets. Plus, it takes you behind the scenes in vintage Hollywood and Martha’s Vineyard. A perfect beach read!” — Lisa Scottoline, #1 bestselling author of Loyalty and The Truth About the Devlins

“Hollywood legends and family secrets are at the heart of Michael Callahan's delicious new novel. . . . It's a sharp, well-crafted story about the perils of getting what we think we want, and should be required reading this spring, whether you're on the Vineyard or not.” — Town & Country

"Callahan skillfully blends notes of mystery and romance in this layered story of family secrets. Readers will have a hard time putting it down." — Publishers Weekly

“Callahan blends mid-century Hollywood glamour and family secrets in this fast-paced, dual-period novel. He captures the historical era in colorful detail, and both women are determined, appealing characters who struggle with their personal and professional lives. Readers who enjoy Beatriz Williams and Crystal Smith Paul will be enthralled.” — Booklist

"A breezy, atmospheric novel dripping with secrets... smooth and suspenseful—and hard to stop reading once you’ve begun." — Kirkus Reviews

"The New York of the 1950s shines through Callahan’s pages. His characters’ breathless excitement with their new lives pulls you into that time and place, and his deft plotting holds you there.”   — New York Times Book Review on Searching for Grace Kelly

"Callahan, who has convincingly researched the era. . .writes page-turning prose and gets the characters' big arcs right." — Elle on Searching for Grace Kelly

“Callahan has a knack for nailing the perfect detail to take a reader back to a particular time and place; this story of three spirited young women is full of the glamour of New York City’s Barbizon Hotel in 1955. The dialogue sings, and the pacing was perfect. It’s a gem of a story.”  — New York Times bestselling author Laura Moriarty on Searching for Grace Kelly  

“A wonderful champagne bubble of a book—glamorous, aspirational, and relatable! The fifties never seemed so fun! Wicked, naughty, and clever.”   — New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz on Searching for Grace Kelly

“Inspired by a true story, this delightful novel is like an old black-and-white movie translated to the page, perfectly capturing the era as it serves up breathless romance and a heart-pounding plot." — People on The Night She Won Miss America

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063282605
  • ISBN 10: 0063282607
  • Imprint: Mariner Books
  • On Sale: 05/21/2024
  • Trimsize: 6.000 in (w) x 9.000 in (h) x 0.930 in (d)
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price: $30.00
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Literary
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • BISAC4 : FICTION: Multiple Timelines
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Contemporary Women