Harper Academic

The Great Halifax Explosion

A World War I Story of Treachery, Tragedy, and Extraordinary Heroism

by John U. Bacon

On Sale: 11/07/2017

Price: $29.99

The Great Halifax Explosion

Read a Sample Listen to a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

The Great Halifax Explosion

A World War I Story of Treachery, Tragedy, and Extraordinary Heroism

by John U. Bacon

On Sale: 11/07/2017

Format:

Price: $29.99

About the Book

The astonishing true story of history's largest manmade explosion before the atomic bomb, and its world-changing aftermath, from acclaimed New York Times bestselling author John U. Bacon

After steaming out of New York City on December 1, 1917, laden with a staggering three thousand tons of TNT and other explosives, the munitions ship Mont-Blanc fought its way up the Atlantic coast, through waters prowled by enemy U-boats. As it approached the lively port city of Halifax, Mont-Blanc's deadly cargo erupted with the force of 2.9 kilotons of TNT—the most powerful explosion ever visited on a human population, save for HIroshima and Nagasaki. Mont-Blanc was vaporized in one fifteenth of a second; a shcokwave leveled the surrounding city. Next came a thirty-five-foot tsunami. Most astounding of all, however, were the incredible tales of survival and heroism that soon emerged from the rubble.

This is the unforgettable story told in John U. Bacon's The Great Halifax Explosion: a ticktock account of fateful decisions that led to doom, the human faces of the blast's 11,000 casualties, and the equally moving individual stories of those who lived and selflessly threw themselves into urgent rescue work that saved thousands.

The shocking scale of the disaster stunned the world, dominating global headlines even amid the calamity of the First World War. Hours after the blast, Boston sent trains and ships filled with doctors, medicine, and money. The explosion would revolutionize pediatric medicine; transform U.S.-Canadian relations; and provide physicist J. Robert Oppenheimer, who studied the Halifax explosion closely when developing the atomic bomb, with history's only real-world case study demonstrating the lethal power of a weapon of mass destruction.

Mesmerizing and inspiring, Bacon's deeply-researched narrative brings to life the tragedy, brvery, and surprising afterlife of one of the most dramatic events of modern times.

Critical Praise

“The most destructive moment of World War I occurred far from the Western Front, in Canada, where an explosion blew a city apart but propelled two nations together. John U. Bacon, a superbly talented historian and story teller, has rescued from obscurity an astonishing episode of horror and heroism.” - GEORGE F. WILL

“When I first encountered the Halifax Explosion, I knew immediately it was a tick-tock of a story just waiting to become a book. John U. Bacon is clearly the perfect writer for the job, able to keep you awake reading hours after your spouse has turned out the lights. In this suspenseful tale of heartbreak and heroism, Bacon deftly recreates a world at war and sheds new light on one of the greatest tragedies of the 20th century.” - BETH MACY, New York Times bestselling author of Factory Man and Truevine

The Great Halifax Explosion is absorbing from first page to last. With deep research and evocative writing, John U. Bacon has brought back to life this devastating wartime event and illuminated its lasting meaning.” - DAVID MARANISS, Pulitzer Prize winner, and author of Once in a Great City

“Fans of Ken Burns, Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat, and John Hersey’s Hiroshima will find in John Bacon’s meticulous reporting a story that literally rocked the world. This is a story with an enormous heart; this is an author with astounding range.” - DOUG STANTON, New York Times bestselling author of The Odyssey of Echo Company

“John U. Bacon’s The Great Halifax Explosion is the seminal account of one of the bloodiest man-made disasters in world history, which killed some 2,000 people. This is a riveting, well-written and researched World War I book. Highly recommended!” - DOUGLAS BRINKLEY, author of Cronkite

“Bacon documents the terrifying incident in vivid detail. ... An absorbing history of disaster and survival.” - Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062666536
  • ISBN 10: 0062666533
  • Imprint: William Morrow
  • On Sale: 11/07/2017
  • Trimsize: 6.000 in (w) x 9.000 in (h) x 1.330 in (d)
  • Pages: 432
  • List Price: $29.99
  • BISAC1: HISTORY / Military / Biological & Chemical Warfare
  • BISAC2: HISTORY / Canada / General
  • BISAC3: HISTORY / Military / World War I