Harper Academic

Little Princes

One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal

by Conor Grennan

On Sale: 12/27/2011

Price: $17.99

Little Princes

One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal

by Conor Grennan

On Sale: 12/27/2011

Format:

Price: $17.99

About the Book

Little Princes is the story of Conor Grennan’s epic battle to save the lost children of war-torn Nepal and how he found himself in the process. Grennan’s heartfelt narrative describes how a three-month volunteering experience changed his life forever. After coming to the shocking realization that most of the parents of the children at the Little Princes Orphanage were still alive, Grennan became determined to reunite the would-be orphans with parents who thought them long dead. At times an inspirational memoir, adventure tale, and love story, Little Princes is a real-life example of how great a difference one person can make in the world.

“The beauty of this book is partly the fact that it is a memoir. But it is also more than that. I defy you to not be inspired or moved by this saga.”-New York Journal of Books

Freshman Common Read: St. Bonaventure University

Critical Praise

In the tradition of “Three Cups of Tea” and “Mountains Beyond Mountains,” this book provides proof (there cannot be too much) of the value of volunteer work. — Los Angeles Times

“With a light touch and refreshing candor, Grennan in Little Princes tells the story of how a good-looking University of Virginia grad with wanderlust ended up risking his life to find, then reunite, children with their families in Nepal, one of the poorest countries in the world.” — USA Today

“The beauty of this book is partly the fact that it is a memoir. But it is also more than that. I defy you to not be inspired or moved by this saga.” — New York Journal of Books

“The author stumbles into volunteering in an orphanage in Nepal and gets involved in reuniting trafficked children with their families. The energy of these children will make you laugh even though they’ve been through hardship and loss.” — San Francisco Chronicle Book Review

“While the story is amazing, sincere and touching, it is also a pleasure to see how the author grows, both in personality and style over the five years that the memoir covers.” — Seattle Post-Intelligencer

“Grennan’s work is by turns self-pokingly humorous, exciting, and inspiring.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“‘Little Princes’ is a tale of determination, courage and love that will not leave you unchanged.” — Daytona Beach News

“Funny, touching, tragic. Conor Grennan’s Little Princes is a remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land — and one man’s extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents.” — Neil White, author of In the Sanctuary of Outcasts

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780061930065
  • ISBN 10: 0061930067
  • Imprint: William Morrow Paperbacks
  • On Sale: 12/27/2011
  • Trimsize: 5.310 in (w) x 8.000 in (h) x 0.750 in (d)
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: $17.99
  • BISAC1 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Fashion
  • BISAC2 : SOCIAL SCIENCE / Social Work
  • BISAC3 : SOCIAL SCIENCE / Philanthropy & Charity
  • BISAC4 : SOCIAL SCIENCE / Poverty & Homelessness
  • BISAC5 : SOCIAL SCIENCE / Children's Studies
  • BISAC6 : SOCIAL SCIENCE / Slavery
  • BISAC7 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
  • BISAC8 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • BISAC9 : TRAVEL / Special Interest / Adventure
  • BISAC10 : TRAVEL / Asia / General