Harper Academic

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form

by Thomas C. Foster

On Sale: 05/23/2017

Price: $15.99

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Enlarge Book Cover

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form

by Thomas C. Foster

On Sale: 05/23/2017

Format:

Price: $15.99

About the Book

How to Read Novels Like a Professor is a lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels, making reading more enriching and satisfying. In the follow up to his wildly popular How to Read Literature Like a Professor, Thomas C. Foster provides students with tried-and-true techniques to use in analyzing some of the most important works in literary history. How to Read Novels Like a Professor shows readers how to consider and a novel’s historical fine points as well as major themes, literary models (the Bible, Shakespeare, Greek mythology, and fairy tales), and narrative devices like irony, plot, and symbol.

“By bringing his eminent scholarship to bear in doses measured for the common reader or occasional student, Professor Foster has done us all a generous turn. The trained eye, the tuned ear, the intellect possesed of simple cyphers brings the literary arts alive.”-Thomas Lynch, author of The Undertaking

Critical Praise

“By bringing his eminent scholarship to bear in doses measured for the common reader or occasional student, Professor Foster has done us all a generous turn. The trained eye, the tuned ear, the intellect possesed of simple cyphers brings the literary arts alive.” — Thomas Lynch, author of The Undertaking

“A smart, accessible, and thoroughly satisfying examination of what it means to read a work of literature. Guess what? It isn’t all that hard, not when you have a knowledgeable guide to show the way. Dante had his Virgil; for everyone else, there is Thomas Foster.” — Nicholas A. Basbanes, author of A Gentle Madness, Patience & Fortitude, and Among the Gently Mad

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780061340406
  • ISBN 10: 0061340405
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 05/23/2017
  • Trimsize: 5.310 in (w) x 8.000 in (h) x 0.760 in (d)
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: $15.99
  • BISAC1 : LANGUAGE ARTS & DISCIPLINES / Readers
  • BISAC2 : LITERARY CRITICISM / Books & Reading
  • BISAC3 : LITERARY CRITICISM / Comparative Literature