fbpx
Harper Academic

Genome

The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters

by Matt Ridley

On Sale: 05/30/2006

Price: $16.99

Genome

Read a Sample Listen to a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

Genome

The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters

by Matt Ridley

On Sale: 05/30/2006

Format:

Price: $16.99

About the Book

Following in the tradition of James Gleick’ Chaos, Matt Ridly vividly explores the most profound scientific discovery of the century—the mapping of the human genome. But what does that mean? In witty, clear language, Ridley answers this question for your students. Genome helps them understand what the human genetic code is, how it works, and how discoveries in the field of genetics are revolutionizing medicine, pharmaceuticals, business, politics, and our own sense of what it means to be human.

By picking one newly discovered gene from each of the twenty-three human chromosomes and telling its story, Ridley recounts the history of our species and its ancestors from the dawn of life to the brink of future medicine. Your students will discover:

• genes they share with bacteria

• genes that distinguish them from chimpanzees

• genes that may influence their intelligence

• genes that enable them to use language

• genes that allow them to remember

• genes that bring about diseases

• genes that battle with one another

• and more fascinating insights into their genetic makeup

Cutting through complicated scientific jargon, Ridley engages your students’ minds and imaginations, exploring and making clear to them the applications of genetics: the search for understanding of where we come from and where we are headed.

Examining a scientific achievement on a parwith the splitting of the atom—and with asmany far-reaching implications—Genome will help students understand who they are as humans—and where they may be going.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780060894085
  • ISBN 10: 0060894083
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 05/30/2006
  • Trimsize: 5.313 in (w) x 8.000 in (h) x 0.829 in (d)
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price: $16.99
  • BISAC1 : SCIENCE / Life Sciences / Genetics & Genomics
  • BISAC2 : SCIENCE / Life Sciences / Evolution